SIXTH EXIT showcase available to stream January 11th - February 7th, 2021

Click Here to RSVP & View

SIXTH EXIT, is a new evening-length dance piece by Nicole Philippidis for 277 Dance Project that investigates humans' connection with the planet, and how man-made pollution and climate change are affecting society both on a personal and macro scale. Performed by six dancers, and set to an original score composed and performed by longtime company collaborator and award-winning musician Johnny Philippidis and sound artist Jacob Wolos, and digital imagery by filmmaker Jennifer Klein. 

Philippidis began a two-year long investigation into the current thinking around environmentalism after inexplicably losing her breath one day walking in Midtown Manhattan. This experience caused her to wonder if she was being affected by air pollution, and how complacent she had been about growing environmental threats. Drawing on her extensive research, Philippidis began exploring choreographic ideas around humans’ connection and disconnection with their environment. Told in four parts, SIXTH EXIT leaves the viewer with the question: is humanity facing the sixth extinction event - or will it come to its collective senses before it’s too late?

Photo Anjola Toro

Apap 2021 Dance Festival Showcase


Premiere Date TBD



Nicole Philippidis


Original Soundscape and score:

Jacob Wolos and John Philippidis


Dani Cole, Randy Burd, Ross Daniel, Yuriko Hiroura, Eric Para, Meghann Padgett, Andrew Pester, Elisa Schreiber, Emily Tellier, Mika Yanagihara

RSVP for access to Showcase
Please fill out the form below to view the APAP 2021 showcase.

A link to view the showcase has been sent to your email.